• Welcome to KonaKart Community Forum. Please login or sign up.

Adding custom basket fields

Started by petkow, September 20, 2013, 11:42:08 am

Previous topic - Next topic

petkow

I am completely new to konakart and relatively new to Java as well so please pardon my ignorance! I have spent quite a while trying to figure out how to enable some additional fields related to the customisation of an order. For example, lets say my product is a T-Shirt, and I allow the customer to define the text to appear on the T-Shirt. Seems to be a fairly straight forward request, but I have been researching this in the documentation and here in the forum and I am not really finding easy answers. The best I could find was described in this post: http://www.konakart.com/forum/index.php?topic=1466.0.

I have defined an additional Product Option and then in the product, I go into the attributes tab and add this option to the product. Now my first question: I presume I need to define something in the C1 and C2 fields of this option in order to store the custom text? It says in the help text: "The attributes C1 and C2 are custom values that may be set with custom data." Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Can someone lead me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance

ryan

The link you gave is still accurate:

QuoteYou put the text in custom basket fields when the product is added to the basket. When an order is created, these custom fields will be copied to the OrderProduct custom fields so every line item of the order can have its own custom values.

So you just add a text entry field to the JSP where a customer can enter the text. When the T-Shirt is added to the basket you put the text in one of the basket object custom fields.  When the order is created the text will automatically be added to the corresponding OrderProduct custom field. The OrderProduct represents a line of the order containing the T-Shirt.