Author Topic: Magnolia - Konakart integration  (Read 8707 times)

dritan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Magnolia - Konakart integration
« on: August 08, 2011, 06:59:31 PM »
Hello,

I did the installation of Konakart and Magnolia integration just like in this link described..
http://www.headwire.com/public/en/hw/cms/modules/konakart.html

First I have to say that I'm a new bee at Magnolia and Konakart. I need the integration of Konakart to Magnolia for a university project.

I have some questions and problems, I hope some one can help me.

1. In Magolia Admin Page ( http://localhost:8080/magnoliakonakart/.magnolia/pages/adminCentral.html ) I see the Konakart pages. If I double-click at a page, the page appears. And I can move panels there. So far so good. If I click then in any page, I get the following error:
Code: [Select]
description: The server encountered an internal error () that prevented it from fulfilling this request.
java.lang.RuntimeException: Could not find ActionConfig for: /CatalogMainPage
com.headwire.konakart.ThawedModuleConfig.findActionConfig(ThawedModuleConfig.java:66)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processMapping(RequestProcessor.java:655)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:191)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:617)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.doForward(RequestProcessor.java:1085)
org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.doForward(TilesRequestProcessor.java:263)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processForwardConfig(RequestProcessor.java:398)
org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.processForwardConfig(TilesRequestProcessor.java:318)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:241)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:617)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)
com.headwire.magnolia.ForwardDoFilter.doFilter(ForwardDoFilter.java:41)

root cause

java.lang.NullPointerException
org.apache.struts.config.impl.ModuleConfigImpl.findActionConfig(ModuleConfigImpl.java:332)
com.headwire.konakart.ThawedModuleConfig.findActionConfig(ThawedModuleConfig.java:63)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processMapping(RequestProcessor.java:655)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:191)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:617)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.doForward(RequestProcessor.java:1085)
org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.doForward(TilesRequestProcessor.java:263)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processForwardConfig(RequestProcessor.java:398)
org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.processForwardConfig(TilesRequestProcessor.java:318)
org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:241)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:617)
javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)
com.headwire.magnolia.ForwardDoFilter.doFilter(ForwardDoFilter.java:41)
--------------------
2. In the video shown at documentation after a click at "edit" or “new” to add new panels at the site, at the page there is a select box at “KK Template“ to select some of the available panels. I do not get this select box, instead of it there is a html input field.
--------------------
3. In the documentation, I had to download magnolia 4.3.6. The current version of magnolia is 4.4.4. Does it means that the module supports only the magnolia version 4.3.6?
--------------------
4. In the documentation, is written "Once you bootstrapped the magnolia instance, please go to the filters configuration and move the konakart filter above the login filter. This is necessary for the struts integration to run correctly.". I realy don't know how and where can I do this.
--------------------
5. For the installation of HWt4m Templating Kit at the documentations stands that I have to download the following files hwt4mkonakartwebsite.xml and hwt4mkonakartconfig.xml. But I don't know from where to download them. Even if I find them to download I still don't know what to do with them.
--------------------
6. At the video at the documentation site the person says that I can put any Konakart-JSP- component to a Mangolia page. I downloaded the magnolia standard-templating-kit and installed it. But I don't know how to put any Konakart-component to the sample Magnolia-site.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Best regards,
Dritan

kylew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Magnolia - Konakart integration
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 02:34:28 PM »
Hi Dritan!

This is Kyle from headwire. In response to your numbered questions:

1. The error is caused by the Konakart filter not being initialized. To fix this, go to the Configuration page of AdminCentral. Under /server/filters/ should be a list of filters with "konakart" at the bottom. Right click on this and move it to be directly above the "login" filter. Restart the server when this is done and the links will work.

2. The select box was removed in favor of a text box so that it can still work even with later versions of Konakart. The text box expects the name of a .jsp file located in the /WEB-INF/jsp/ folder. I recommend checking the paragraphs on the sample pages to get a feel of which .jsp is which. As a general rule, the ones that end in "Body" tend to be designed for the main column, the ones that end in "Tile" tend to be designed for the side columns of a page.

3. It supports 4.3.8. It needs a slight change to the WEB-INF/web.xml to run with Magnolia 4.4. If you want to use it with 4.4, around line 167 is two filter mappings for the magnoliaFilterChain. Add a "<dispatcher>INCLUDE</dispatcher>" to both.

4. This is the issue that was causing #1. The documentation is a little confusing, hopefully my description above makes sense.

5. I'm not sure where those are either. I'll find out and update the website. The HWT4M isn't required, and depending on what exactly you are doing it may add more clutter than you need as it adds over 100 templates.

6. The konakart paragraph needs to be added to the template definitions wherever you want to use it. The template definitions for the STK are under the configuration, /modules/standard-templating-kit/templates. Many of those have a /mainArea/paragraphs node, its under this node with the rest of the paragraphs you would put a new node called "kkpara" or "kksidepara" for whichever type of konakart paragraph you want. The konakart paragraph definitions themselves are under /modules/konakart/paragraphs.

I hope this helps. Please let us know if you have any other questions or recommendations on how we can improve the documentation. I'm glad to see someone using the module, hopefully it works well for your project. :)

Best regards,
Kyle

dritan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Magnolia - Konakart integration
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2011, 02:09:10 PM »
Hi Kyle,

thanks very much. Point 1-5 are clear now.

At point 6 I did every thing just like you told me(see the attached image), but I'm sure that I'm missing something here. When I go to the page, I still don't know how to put konakart modules on the site.

Regards,
Dritan

kylew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Magnolia - Konakart integration
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2011, 01:16:30 PM »
Sorry for the confusion, you should make a node under paragraphs in the same style as the other stk***** nodes. In this case, the node name should be kkpara, and it should have just a property "name" with the value "kkpara". Once you do that, the konakart paragraph should show up if you hit the "New Teasers" button on the STK demo page.

dritan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Magnolia - Konakart integration
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2011, 07:00:31 AM »
Hello Kyle,

thank you very very much, it works now. 

I still have questions, if you don't mind:

1. For my university project I have the request, that the articles should be managed (create, update, delete etc.) in Mangolia.
Can add this funtionallity independently from your module? Or do I need the source code of your module to upgrade to this functionality?

2. As I said before I installed the module everything just like requested. And it works now well. But I see only the admin view of the pages. What should I do to see the public view of the pages?

Regards,
Dritan

chaithanya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Magnolia - Konakart integration
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2013, 01:59:17 PM »
Hi Dritan, I have many issues following that link of struts integration. i see that some tiles files are missing. can you please share the magnolia versions and struts versions which worked for you if possible the source too..

Regards,
Chaithanya